Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay In Place Foundation Review

I have an obsession with foundation at the moment! I have been on the lookout for the *perfect* foundation that sits well on my skin and I wanted to give this one a try. I heard a lot of good things about this including that it is an alternative to the Kat Von D Lock-It Foundation.

To test this, I got a sample of the Double Wear Foundation in the shade Ivory Beige. It is recommended for those with “beige ivory skin” who have “warm neutral undertones”. Here are some swatches below:

Unbiased Opinion

Product: Estee Lauder Double Wear Foundation- Ivory Beige. I heard it was really full coverage, but the makeup consultant said it was medium coverage that is buildable. When I tried it out, she was right. It can be described as medium, but buildable coverage with a satin finish. The foundation has a faint smell to it too, I can’t exactly put my finger on it, but to me it smells like coffee and chestnut mixed but goes unnoticeable after application. The foundation has a faint smell to it.

Place: Estee Lauder Counter at my local mall. You can also purchase this online at Sephora.com. The makeup consultant pulled out a detailed colour match scheme which is great for matching so many foundations to specific skin tones.

Price: about $52 CAD at the counter but is sold online at Sephora for $46 CAD.

Quick Review: My Opinion

Pros:

-Lasts 7 hours

-I like the foundation scent. I can’t exactly put my finger on it, but to me it smells like coffee and chestnut mixed and I really like it for some reason.

-Medium coverage and it didn’t sink into my pores

Cons:

-Oils peaked through on my forehead even with setting powder

-Foundation on my nose separated as well.

-Doesn’t last one full “work-day”/ as long as I’d like it to (I have pretty oily skin, though)

Final Thoughts

I think this is a good everyday foundation when you don’t need it to last all day long. I like how it is medium, but buildable coverage. I love the colour and think it suits my skin tone so well!! For the price that it costs, I would skip over this foundation to be honest. I recommend the Maybelline FIT Me Foundation (your shade in the Matte collection) as a drugstore alternative as it has the same kind of finish and staying power at a fraction of the price. On the other hand, if you want to try this or are a diehard Estee Lauder fan than I say give it a shot!

Leave a comment